Eagles name Jalen Hurts and 6 other captains for 2022

The Eagles have announced seven captains voted by the players for the 2022 season:

• Jaylen injured

• Jason Kells

• Ryan Johnson

• Brandon Graham

• Fletcher Cox

• Darius Kill

• Jack Elliott

In Doug Pederson’s final season as head coach, he took the players’ votes and appointed the captain himself. Nick Sirianni allowed players to vote in his first year as head coach. That’s what happened again the following year.

Jaylen damage: The 24-year-old captained for the second straight season. No surprises. He’s the starting quarterback and also has some natural leadership qualities. Even though he’s a rookie backup in 2020, players are starting to be drawn to Hurts. He is the youngest of the Eagles’ seven captains.

Jason Kelcher: The 34-year-old center is heading into his 12th NFL season as captain for the fifth straight season. Kelce has just recovered from an elbow injury/surgery and is expected to be ready for the season opener on Sept. 11 in Detroit.

Ryan Johnson: For whatever reason, the Eagles only had two offensive captains last year. They added Johnson to it in 2022. The veteran right tackle ended up looking completely healthy and motivated by missing the 2021 Pro Bowl.

Fletcher Cox: Like Kelce, this is Cox’s fifth straight season as captain of this team. Like Kelcher, this could be Cox’s final season with the Hawks. He’s on a one-year, $14 million deal for the 2022 season. Cox recently said he’s been taking the time this summer to appreciate everything more.

Brandon Graham: Graham, another repeat captain, has won the honor four times in the past six seasons. Graham, like Kelcher, is 34 years old and is coming off an Achilles injury that ended his 2021 season early. But Graham looked healthy in training camp, and the Hawks hope he still gets it. This year will be Graham’s 13th season with the Eagles; he’s the city’s longest-tenured athlete.

Darius Kills: The Eagles made Rodney McLeod a free agent with Sly as captain. Slay is entering his third season with the Hawks, and as advertised in the cornerback ad. But he is also a leader. It’s been an honor for Slay to help young players on both ends of the floor.

Jack Elliott: The Eagles shooter is coming off his best career season and Pro Bowl honors. The Hawks’ special team captain last season was Alex Singleton, who played as a free agent.

Here’s a look back at the captains year by year since the Eagles started naming them in 2017:

2017: Carson Wentz, Jason Peters, Malcolm Jenkins, Brandon Graham, Chris Malagos

2018: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelcher, Malcolm Jenkins, Fletcher Cox, Cam Gruger-Hill

2019: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelcher, Malcolm Jenkins, Fletcher Cox, Cam Gregor-Hill/Duke Riley

2020: Carson Wentz, Jason Kelcher, Jason Peters, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Rodney MacLeod, Duke Riley, K. Reg James

2021: Jaylen Hertz, Jason Kelcher, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Rodney MacLeod, Alex Singleton

2022: Jaylen Hertz, Jason Kelcher, Ryan Johnson, Fletcher Cox, Brandon Graham, Darius Sly, Jack Elliott

Subscribe to the Hawkeye Podcast

Apple Podcasts | Google Play | Spotify | Stitcher | Art 19 | Watch on YouTube

Leave a Comment