How to delete your Yelp account

Yelp remains an influential tool for keeping business owners on their toes by ensuring their customer service is the best it can be. But if one day you decide, for your own reasons, that you no longer want to review companies, you can delete your Yelp account. We will show you here how to do it.

Read more: What is Yelp and how to use it

QUICK ANSWER

To close your Yelp account, send a request to Yelp Customer Service. They ask for a reason, but a generic (or false) generic reason will suffice. Account termination is immediate and irreversible, but it may take another day or two for the reviews and photos to be removed from Yelp.

How to close your Yelp account

close your Yelp account

Unfortunately, there is no big one Close the account button on your Yelp account page. To close your Yelp account, you must go to this page and submit a closure request to Yelp Customer Support.

They’ll ask for a reason – say whatever you want, really – and click To send. Yelp will then process your request. The account closure process is immediate and irreversible, so make sure you really want to close your Yelp account. This will result in deleting all of your reviews, photos, and any other contributions made with that account. If you have hundreds of reviews, closing your account would be a really big deal.

How to close your Yelp business account

close your Yelp business account
closing your request for a corporate account on Yelp

Yelp then says they need “more information to help them with your inquiry”. You don’t have to say much, as you have the right to close your account if you wish. Simply saying “I don’t want to use Yelp anymore” should be more than enough.

Note, however, that closing a Yelp business account does not remove actual activity from Yelp. So, if you thought this would be a good way to remove all that negative feedback about your business from the internet, think again. Yelp is way ahead of you. The business and reviews of its users will remain on Yelp, in any case.


Read more: How to add or remove a Yelp review

Frequent questions

No, once the request has been submitted and the account closed, the decision is irreversible. You should open a brand new account and start over.

Yes. Just send a request to Yelp. However, there may be a delay if your business account is linked to currently running ads.

If you close your Yelp account, any reviews, photos, and other site contributions made with that account will be deleted. However, the deletion may take another day or two.

No, businesses are never removed from Yelp.

Yes, you can cancel your Yelp Business Page claim, but by doing so you will lose access to the page, you will not be able to make changes to the page or respond to customer reviews.

Yes, but you can just give a generic and generic answer, for example “I don’t need it anymore”. Yelp will not press for further details.

Account termination is immediate, but the removal of reviews, photos, and other contributions can take another day or two.

Currently, it is not possible to bulk delete reviews on Yelp. You have to take them out one by one. If you need to quickly disassociate yourself from a lot of reviews, it would be best to anonymize your account first by removing the user’s photo, changing your name and removing any other identifying information from your profile.

No, you have to do this on a desktop browser or a mobile browser. The app does not provide a way to close the account.

Leave a Comment