February 5, 2023

In two years as an NFL coach, Nick Sirianni has only won, guiding the Eagles to back-to-back NFC playoff finishes and this season’s NFC championship. Sirianni received some recognition for his services when the prestigious Maxwell Club named Sirianni the 34th Greasy Neale Professional Coach of the Year, Maxwell Football Club director Mark Wolpert announced on Wednesday morning.

Sirianni joins former Eagles coaches Ray Rhodes (1995), Andy Reid (2000–2002–2010), Chip Kelly (2013) and Doug Pederson (2017) as winners of the Greasy Neale Coach of the Year Award.

Led by Sirianni, the Eagles ended this season with their best regular season record in franchise history, 14-3, and in two seasons overall, the Eagles are 23-11 under Sirianni.

Since the NFL’s merger with the AFL in 1970, Sirianni became only the fourth coach to win 14 games in his first or second season, along with Jim Caldwell (Indianapolis Colts 2009), Mike Martz (St. Louis Rams 2001) and George Seifert (twice). , 1989-90 San Francisco 49ers).

Under Sirianni, the Eagles are No. 1 in the NFC in yards per game (389.1), total yards (6,614), and points per game (28.1) and fourth in the NFL overall in third-down efficiency ( 45.9%) and third overall in percentage of red zone offenses (67.8). Under Sirianni as head coach, the Eagles have ranked No. 2 in total defense (301.5 yards per game) and first in total defense (179.8 yards per game) this season.

In two years, Sirianni has the Eagles in their eighth overall NFC championship after the team finished 4-11-1 in the season before arriving in Philadelphia.

Sirianni will be honored along with Jalen Hurts on Thursday, March 9, 2023 at the Maxwell Football Club’s 86th National Awards Gala to be held at the Mohegan Pennsylvania Resort. Other honors at the event include Caleb Williams – USC (Maxwell Award), Will Anderson Jr. – Alabama (Chuck Bednarik Award), Sean Clifford – Penn State (The Brian Westbrook Regional Player of the Year Award), Drake Maye – North Carolina ( Shaun Alexander Freshman of the Year Award), Willie Fritz – Tulane University (George Munger Collegiate Coach of the Year Award), and Joe Klecko – New York Jets (The MFC Legends Award, presented by Mohegan Pennsylvania). The club will announce additional winners this week.

Tickets for the Maxwell Football Club National Awards Gala can be purchased on the club’s website https://maxwellfootballclub.org/purchase-tickets/ or by calling 215-643-3833. Questions regarding Maxwell Football Club awards or programs can be directed to Mark Wolpert, MFC Executive Director at [email protected]

Joseph Santoliquito is an award-winning Philadelphia-area sportswriter who has written for SI.com, ESPN.com, NFL.com, MLB.com, Deadspin and The Philadelphia Daily News. In 2006, he was nominated for an Emmy Award for a special project feature for ESPN.com entitled “Love at First Beep.” He is best known for his award-winning ESPN.com article on high school wrestler AJ Detwiler in February 2006 and his groundbreaking story about Carson Wentz for PhillyVoice on January 21, 2019. In 2015 he was elected President of the Boxing Writers Association of America.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *