Roger Federer’s Last Match at Laver Cup: When and What to Watch

On Friday, 20-time Grand Slam singles champion Roger Federer will play his final match on the ATP Tour during the Laver Cup in London.

He doesn’t play singles. Instead, he will play doubles alongside his longtime opponent and friend Rafael Nadal on the court.

The Laver Cup will pit six European players against six from the rest of the world. The tournament is sometimes likened to the team-based Ryder Cup golf tournament, an opportunity to see players who normally play alone come together.

Federer and Nadal will play against two Americans, Frances Tiafoe and Jack Sock. The game could be played as early as around 8:30pm London time (3:30pm ET) as it won’t start until after the singles match between Andy Murray and Alex De Minaur ( 7pm London time, 2pm) East).

Federer helped create the Laver Cup and turned it into a tour, though Friday’s entire tournament will give fans a chance to catch one last glimpse of Federer, who has not played since Wimbledon last year. The stage is sure to produce several unforgettable moments.

Here is some information about the competition:

In the US, Tennis Channel will broadcast the Laver Cup. In Canada, it will air on TVA Sports. ESPN will broadcast the game in many Latin and Central American countries. Eurosport will broadcast the matches in Europe, except in France, where viewers will watch the matches via beIN Sports. Federer will play in London’s night match on Friday.

There are 12 players in the Laver Cup. On the Monday following the French Open, three players from each team qualify based on their ATP singles rankings.

Three other players were selected as “captain’s draft picks” for each team. John McEnroe is the captain of Team World and Bjorn Borg is the captain of Team Europe.

This year, Team World will be represented by Felix Auger-Aliassime of Canada, Diego Schwartzman of Argentina, Alex de Minaur of Australia, and Americans Taylor Fritz, Jack Sock and Frances Tiafoe. Tommy Paul of the United States is the substitute for Team World, and John’s brother Patrick McEnroe is the team’s vice-captain.

Between them, players representing European teams hold more than 60 Grand Slam titles. They are Serbia’s Novak Djokovic, Spain’s Nadal, Greece’s Stefanos Tsitsipas, Switzerland’s Federer, Norway’s Kaspar Rudd and Britain’s Andy Muhammad thunder. Italy’s Matteo Berrettini is a substitute for the European team, and Sweden’s Thomas Enqvist, a former top-five player, is the team’s vice-captain.

The Laver Cup is a three-day singles and doubles competition. The game is divided into two sets, and if each game is tied, a 10-point tie-breaker is used to determine the winner – 10 points come first, and a two-point win is a game.

Each player will play at least one singles match on the first two days of a match, and no player may play more than two singles matches during the course of a match. At least four of the six players on a team play doubles.

Federer got an exception allowing him to play in doubles.

Federer has a special relationship with the Laver Cup; it was created by the agency TEAM8 that represents him.

Federer wants to do something special to honor Rod Laver, the Australian tennis star who has won 11 Grand Slam singles titles, including over the years, said his agent, Tony Godsick. Grand Slam (Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon and U.S. Open) champions within a year) in 1962 and 1969.

This year’s Laver Cup will be held at London’s O2 Arena, an indoor venue that can seat up to 20,000 people. The competition rotates every year between cities in Europe and the rest of the world.

Last year, the game was played at TD Garden, home to the NBA’s Boston Celtics and NHL Bruins. Next year’s Laver Cup will be played at Rogers Arena in Vancouver, home to the Canucks, and the game will move to Mercedes-Benz Arena in Berlin in 2024.

The first team to reach 13 points wins the Laver Cup. On the first day of competition, one point is awarded for a game win. On day 2, 2 points are awarded for a game win, and on day 3, 3 points per game.

If both teams have 12 points each, they will play a final on Sunday for the title.

Leave a Comment